#1 Review: Catering, Bridal and Nikah Outfit

Next set of reviews! OUT with the negativity (for now, dalam hati masih tak puas hati because they didn’t acknowledge their mistake), IN with the positive! The things I loved about my wedding. Catering: Puteri Wedding Services Needs no further introduction already. They did for my sister’s wedding 5 years ago and I remembered it was the nicest (in terms of taste and display of food products) caterer that I didn’t need to think twice. Even my mom agreed. Of course we did inquire for Maria Le Caterer but they weren’t available 😦 Thought of having something different lah because they’re of the same standard but rezeki with PWS still. Here are some photos of the fooooood! Photos credit to PWS blogspot, takkan pengantin amek gambar kan.

I wasnt hungry during the event but nasi 3 kali tambah bila dah balek tukar baju all. Got good feedback from friends and families that the food was puas hati, alhamdulillah. Service from Kak Aishah was awesome, she went the extra mile to search fro alternatives to cover the tempat masak and khemah solat (pictured above). Initially I’d ask my deaaaaaarest deco for help and it was a straight forward request; I need a partition, maybe just a simple drape or just kain beli at Arab Street in bulk and help to pasang from the top to the bottom so as to prevent guests from unsightly khemah and all. Previous weddings held at this MPH had their cooking space and area all naked facing the pelamin and guest tables, which we did not want. I told deco that we will pay the additional costs, but the response that I got was a flat no. Yeah like no we can’t do that and we can’t help you. No initiative to go the extra mile for any alternatives. I asked them THREE times at separate occasions. One of the response given was that they had pre-ordered our drapes and materials 2 months in advance and in bulk (lmao) and they’re not able to add on to the orders. Funny, I just needed kain. I said drapes but the normal kain are also drapes what , I wasn’t asking for fanciful ones. And when she said in bulk, I measured and questioned her “Isn’t 12m by 4m bulk enough for the supplier?”. Only theeeeennn she provided us with a quotation which got up to $1000 because it was 2 weeks to the event. At the same time Kak Aishah asked her other deco contacts and they quoted $400. Win. It was so simple that we wanted to do ourselves but the thought of having those leftover kain after the event made me sick. But alhamdulillah.

Live station Soto and Roti jala (not pictured)

Jempot jempot on sticks

 

And many many more.

Baju nikah:- Tailored and designed by Fanurly Couture

Kain: Royal Fabrics

Got her contact from my colleague who did her baju nikah, and apparently she’s my cousin’s very close friend. Her official model is my niece lor 😉 She does a range of baju pengantin so you need not worry should you wish to engage her ok. The reason why I had to go to her was that I was worried that my normal tailor could not handle my heavily embellished lace. Best to send to the expert. Alhamdulillah I was satisfied with the outcome, thought I think we need not have bought so much lace if we’re looking at something simple. Then again, thats why we’re not designers. Beli kain tapi no design in mind, terbeli belambak pulak. But oneeeeee thing that was abit blah was that my photographers uploaded a preview of our nikah and hashtag it as Versari because my bridal is VA and they had no idea that my nikah baju was not from VA. She made a fuss about the hashtag and I found it very childish lah, not my photog’s fault. We had a long day and she doesn’t check her IG notifications until the end of our photoshoot. Not very nice lah you know. Its your creation but its just a hashtag problem. Can edit anytime one. Whatever it is, I loved my kain lol. Btw to achieve the flare and flowy kain, I had to purchase 6m of Chiffon. And it’s not that flare as well. Another dress had to use up to 20m of chiffon to achieve the princessy look. Fuh.

Thats my MUA in pink! And my grey/yellow bridesmaids.

Bridal:- Versari Ade

MUA: Yaqyn

Stylist: Nuris

Previously I’d mentioned my concerns about having Kak Yaqyn to makeup and go while her assistant takes over but the moment Kak Nuris came my room became so kecoh. Kak Yaqyn is the more serious one but low and behold, they’re both sisters. Kamcheng so lagi lah bising. Kak Nuris is also a MUA who will constantly touch up and make sure you’re looking your best, as the same time cuit cuit cakap “SMILEEEEE always SMILEEEE”! I was so happy with the makeup and only received compliments from family and friends.

Total baju from Versari was 3. To me, if you’re looking for the best traditional songket, they are the ones to go to. The songket collection is just too many you will be spoilt for choice. Initially I was worried because I was so inclined to having modern songket, the mermaid-kind of songket like how the KL artistes are wearing for their weddings and how some bridal houses here have it. But the advice I got from a KL Wedding planner was still ringing in my head. Something like having a diverse range of outfit and don’t stick to just one type of baju. Meaning that you dont have your Nikah baju, songket and gown all in the same mermaid style. So for mine, baju nikah is baju kurung with a trail, sanding is songket and gown is of a different style.

After a few tries during selection of outfits (yes 2 hours is more than enough!), we ended up choosing this! But do not that during selection there will not be any trying of sanggul all. Again I was worried because I dont know if I want to wear it or not, alot of people were telling me that it’s gonna make you pening and berat but Kak Ida assured that theirs was light and tak memeningkan. Trust that it was ok, so I went to their Facebook to see the types of sanggul lintang available. I only liked a few designs so based on Kak Yaqyn’s advise, during the final fitting I selected the type of sanggul as well 🙂 Love the fact that they constantly give you ideas on what flowers to match etc, but thats obviously because they ARE the professional ones. No worries at all lah.

By sanding time Kak Nuris had taken over Kak Yaqyn’s role of touching up and dressing me up. So gerek ah this one.

Loved this photo of us

Honestly speaking, I was disappointed with their gowns. Ok, maybe it’s just me. I was looking at a more simple and modern dress, and not gown. I hate ballroom dresses, but thankfully I managed to get something simple and fits my taste. In the first place I was only loving all the chiffons but its okay, I loved this one together with the makeup! And I think my husband looks handsome lah 😛

Loved our bajus, hate the pelamin. Urgh. Fairy lights entah ke mana pon.

image (12)

Sample and proof that I was really a taktaududukdiamposececantik kind of pengantin. Expresi buruk.

Second day over at his side was a more chillax reception. Made me wish mine was as relax but I just didn’t know how to plan for it! His was over at Charisma D’venue and its fully aircon so apa lagi sedap lah! Since it was a chillax reception we didn’t bother to have 2 outfits. It was so peaceful that I could finish eating and wanted more hahaha tamak! But the food was really really gooooood!

Second day makeup and outfit. Kak Yaqyn’s work of art ^.^

Family who followed for the bertandang 😀

Loved his suit again 😉

Bridesmaids:- GengMilah (10) + Upin Ipin Fam (2)

Groomsmen:- GengMilo (6) consisting of husbands + Boyfriends

Ok this one not vendor lah but I love how their whole outfit turned out 🙂 I spent alot of time trying to find the color that complements my outfit and the yellow that will suit the grey lace and kain k! Pening kepala but the result is love

As for the groomsmen we got them off the shelves lah. Lelaki nak tailor ni dorg leceh sikit. The only thing tailored was their samping.

MISSING ONE BRIDESMAID AISHAHHHHHHRRRR!!

Outdoor photoshoot after Day 1.

Their positions are not according to their respective partners hehehe

For Day 2 over at his side we cut down on the number of bridesmaids and groomsmen. Reason is because I only wanted to trouble my Upin Ipin family ahahaha no lah, because I cannot pick which GM to be with me, and I thought its more meaningful for Upin Ipin (Shah and Aishah) because I’ve been close to them since poly days, and when husband came into the picture during Bloco time, it just suddenly became like a family. Very grateful to have them around because they were really helpful and buat kita entertained as well hahaha

My in-laws.

Here’s an interesting fact. His sister-in-law (lady next to me) is, following the family hierarchy over my paternal side, is my niece. Technically, her children are my grand-nephews/nieces, even if I did not end up marrying my husband. But since we’re now married, they automatically become my niece and nephews as well. Complicated eh? I thought the family should be expanding but then not as expanded >.<

Ok I’m done with my part 1 review (plus a few rantings). Up next… let’s see when I’m free bruahaha but I must do it for memories sake.